On the road to recovery…

Except I’m not allowed out on the road to go for a walk, or in the field, or anywhere except the garden. It’s just soooo boring having to stay indoors all the time. I’m not even allowed to jump on the furniture.. not that I do that normally of course. I’m a dog and I don’t sit on furniture. Yeah right. I got round that one and I’m allowed on ‘some’ chairs if there’s a doggie blanket on them, or a human, then I’m allowed to sit on them!

Anyway, yesterday mummy came to pick me up from the vets at 3 o’clock. I don’t really remember much about it because I was still kind of woozey and my legs were a bit wobbly. I managed to walk out to the car and mummy lifted me up into my travel crate. When we got home I found that she’d been tidying up.. my bedroom was all clean and all my toys were put away and she’d put fresh blankets on my bed.

The lampshade on my head’s a bit of a nuisance – how’s a girl supposed to have a wash when I can only reach the end of my tail? Mummy says I have to keep it on because I’m a nibbler and I’d probably want to wash and nibble at the stitches on my tummy. Lily told me that she had to wear one when she had an operation like mine.. but mummy took her lampshade off after a few hours because she didn’t try to lick her stitches. Cats also don’t do the nibbly thing either, being the inferior sort of creatures that they are.. shhh don’t tell her I said that! I only run away when she chases me because I figure mummy & daddy wouldn’t like it if I chased her instead. (Well, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!)

Yesterday I said no grapes or chocolate.. because doggies aren’t allowed to eat them.. but we are allowed to eat bones and today I got given my first bone!! I’m not really sure what I’m supposed to do with it, but I did get my lampshade taken off so I could have a good sniff. I’d really like to take it outdoors and hide it, but its very heavy and there are some nice juicy meaty bits on it. This is only half of it, the other half is in the fridge. Maybe when I’m feeling completely better I’ll be able to attack it with a bit more of my usual enthusiasm!

Tomorrow afternoon I have to go back to the vets so the nice nurse can check that my stitches are okay, then I have to go back again the week after so they can take them out. I’ve only got 4 stitches but there’s a big bald patch on my tummy and a bald patch on my arm and another one on my neck.

I wouldn’t let mummy take a video of me having a wobbly fit with my lampshade on.. so here’s one of me from Sunday afternoon when I found a little playmate in the conservatory!

And yes, I did eat him in the end!

~ by Teagan on October 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
