The trouble with bones

After I had my op, mummy got me a huge bone to keep me occupied. Only problem was I wasn’t quite sure what I was supposed to do with it, it was darned heavy and I wasn’t allowed to take it outside because I was confined to my sickbed.  I licked it a lot but apart from that I was a bit confused..

Anyway, it’s been lying round on the floor for two weeks now and it’s definitely improving with age. Yesterday I even started having a good gnaw on it and it’s actually quite tasty. It’s still a bit heavy for me to carry outside, so I’m having to bury it indoors.. which takes a bit of doing, but I manage.

Burying the bone

Burying the bone

I use the “nose shoving” technique. Usually I find a goodly sized hole and then push soil back in to cover things up.. using my nose to do the pushing. Same method works indoors too, but I might be at risk of getting a carpet burn on my nose!

Job done!

Job done!

Mummy told me that Shelby is going for a check up at the vet on Friday before she has her op over Christmas. So just for Shelby here’s a pic of my stitches.

4 Stitches

4 Stitches

I’m feeling all back to normal now and mummy has trouble trying to keep me a bit calm.. calm isn’t even in my vocabulary, but she does her best to stop me doing anything too silly. I make up for it by leaping around in puddles twice as much as usual.. and there were some great ones today.

Heavenly puddle

Heavenly puddle

We’ve been playing fetch too.. in this picture you can see the feathers in my tail! Up until now they’ve been growing round and round my tail but they’ve finally got long enough to uncurl.. pretty aren’t they!

Me fetching..

Me fetching..

Not that I fetch properly very often, I still leave it behind, or tease mummy and only give it to her if she gives me a biscuit. Then I jump up and down until she throws it again. I think I’m supposed to sit nicely but I don’t like that rule, I prefer the jumping up and down. When we got home today she asked me how come she’s the only doggy mummy that gets so muddy.. she even took a picture of the coat she had on. Looks great to me..

A bit of mud..

A bit of mud..

And a bit more mud

And a bit more mud

Only 9 more days until we go on holiday.. I hope there’ll be plenty of mud there too! Wamba and Lily aren’t coming, they’re staying at home with the house sitter.

~ by Teagan on November 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
