The Little Brown Mouse

This morning it was really white outside and mummy said it was minus one. That’s something to do with temperature and not minus one “something” like me being minus one red throw toy at the moment because I hid it from mummy while we were out on Monday and she hasn’t been able to find it. I’ve got a yellow one too but it’s even more difficult to find because it’s not very yellow any more. Every day this week we’ve had a look to see if we could find it but I reckon someone else has found it and taken it home with them.

We went on our usual walk this morning and met Ollie and his dad on their way back from their walk – Ollie is a very handsome lad, probably a bit old and sensible for me, but I still like him! They’re mostly older boys that I meet, except Boycie and Barney. I’ve not seen Boycie for ages and I haven’t seen Barney since we got back from our holiday. This is me and Ollie.

Me and Ollie

Me and Ollie

There are a lot of black labradors around here – there’s a nice one called Amos who comes up to the field in his mummy’s car. He’s kind of old too with distinguished white bits round his nose. There’s another nice one called Dave – he’s a creamy colour – and we see him quite often.

The mud was really hard today and all the puddles were frozen so I could walk on the water without breaking through the ice like I did before.

The Big Ice Rink

The Big Ice Rink

Auntie Susie sent mummy pictures of my friends Shelby & Maja in the frost.. so here are some frosty pictures.
My friend Shelby

My friend Shelby

My friend Maja

My friend Maja

And frosty me..

And frosty me..

 I guess you might be wondering when you’re going to see a photo of a mouse? Well, we did see a mouse on our walk – there’s a spot in the hedge where there’s an old enamel bread bin and today mummy thought she saw something so we went in the hedge to investigate. It has some old aga pans in it and a big ladle.

Who Cooked with these?

Who Cooked with these?

There were some other old bits of pottery lying around and this old kettle.. with a brown mouse beside it.
Mouse House?
Don’t waste too much time trying to find the mouse in the photo because even though it  was wandering around for ages before he ran off, mummy didn’t manage to get the camera out in time, and when she did get it out she’d left the lens cap on again. She’s always doing that. Anyway, it was a regular type mouse but it had a lovely brown coat.. sort of chestnut brown, not mousey brown.. maybe it lived in the kettle or one of the other bits of stuff in the hedge. We’ll look out for it again tomorrow and I’ll make sure mummy’s got the camera ready before we get there.
~ by Teagan on December 12, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Little Brown Mouse”

  1. All the way through I was waiting for the mouse… what a let down. A bit like last Saturdays semi-final of Strictly Come Dancing – but worse! I am holding my breath waiting for the pictures. By the way, love the frosty pics of all the dogs. I hear that Susie’s doggies have been a bit “naughty” with a postman’s package. Whoops! Jane

  2. Sorry about the lack of mouse.. we haven’t seen it again even tho mummy’s been ready with the camera just in case. The parcel thing was all the postman’s fault for signing for it and then leaving it where they could get to it, so doggies not to blame! I never get chance to even sniff the post..

  3. Oh well. Keep an eye on the kettle and pots it might emerge one of these days. Or you might be able to sniff it out!

Leave a Reply

 
