Strange Things… Answers Anyone??

Well, the night before when we walked up past the sheep field and the horse field we’d heard them cutting the grass, and it was all cut the next time we went past.

Mmmm love the smell...

Mmmm love the smell...

I had to go in and investigate the smells, but thought I’d have a better sniff around when we next walked by. Silly me. The next time we walked by this is what greeted us!!

OMD what are these things?

OMD what are these things?

The grass had all gone and the field was covered in these big black weird things.. where had it gone? What were these big black things? They looked really scary so I just had to get closer and see what I could find out.

Where did they come from?

Where did they come from?

I went as close as I could but I wouldn’t recommend it, they’re really spooky and took no notice of me growling and woofing at them, they just lay there.. big fat black blobs. I was woofing so much that mummy blew her whistle so I thought it best to go back to safety.. so be warned.. the black blobs are out to get you!

Our next mystery is up Muston Lane where it seems like the badger population has had a little explosion because there are holes appearing everywhere and lots of the grass is squished down, but why are there lots of dead bees?

Hmmm what do I see here...

Hmmm what do I see here...

Yes, all those little black blobs by my feet are buzzy bees..had the badgers chosen to dig a hole where there was a bee nest? We have bumble bees live down holes in the garden.. mummy tells me not to try to eat them.

Who killed the bees?

Who killed the bees?

There were loads of them and they were all dead… very strange indeed. I wonder if my friend Jane will be able to explain this mystery!! I expect so because she’s really clever and knows all about bees…

On to the next mystery, which isn’t really a mystery, but I don’t know the answer so it’s a sort of mystery.

What are these??

What are these??

Need a closer look?

Is that better?

Is that better?

There’s a whole field of them but we can’t decide what they are… even after trying a bit.

Well, I guess I’ve taxed your brain enough for now so I shall just finish off with some nice piccies… you may want to go blow your nose to make sure your olfactory system is fully functioning because the smell is lovely. Breath in deeply now…

Lovely honeysuckle..

Lovely honeysuckle..

Hmmm did you smell that? And how about a lovely dog rose to finish off.. yes, one named after us canines.

Rosa Canina

Rosa Canina

Absolutely perfect.. just like me!!

~ by Teagan on June 17, 2009.

4 Responses to “Strange Things… Answers Anyone??”

  1. Hi Teagan. Well they (badgers) could quite easily have dug it out (did you see any bee-nest lying around?) as they do love to eat bee nests (honey) and wasps, or the bees might have died for a completely separate reason (ie parasitic mites or eggs growing in them, layed by other insects/flys). Yuk!

    Is the growing stuff beet? I know they grow it for cattle/animal fodder and also for cover for pheasant/partridge. Not sure what else it could be – except some other fodder crop.

    Lovely pics!

    Jane

    • Thanks Jane, we’ll poke around in the hedgerow next time we’re passing and look for evidence of a nest. Yes it could be fodder beet, mum thought of mangelwurzels which I think is the same thing. She just likes the name really! Teagan x

  2. I don’t think I has ever seen those black blobs up close but I will be sure to woof at them if I do. Thanks, pal, for the heads up on that.

    • Hi Shawnee.. yes you take care if you ever do see one.. they look like they could turn nasty even though these ones appeared to be quite docile. Teagan x x

Leave a Reply

 
