The Homecoming : Part 1

Today was the day that daddy came home after his not very successful sailing trip. Something to do with tides and wind and getting out of the Elbe, so he ended up watching a lot of boats and resting up.. having just gone from Brunsbuttel to Cuxhaven. The boat eventually got to its final destination, Lauwersoog, today after a journey troubled by herds of fishing boats, which apparently rule the water.

Meanwhile, back here at home it began as usual with a late morning walk which started off up in the hoopy field, where I stopped to take a closer look at the big yellow monster. It was still resting but it was scary all the same, such a lot of teeth and so huge!!

Checking its teeth for tartar

Checking its teeth for tartar

Mum threw hoopy for me loads of times, it was quite windy so she could throw it even further than usual. It’s such fun, except for when I don’t pay attention when she throws it because them I have to go and hunt for it which is quite difficult.

I fly across the field...

I fly across the field...

Afterwards, we walked down the lane past the cows and along the road to Muston Lane. I was still on the lead, because there are a few houses and cars go up there, when we walked past the most amazing puddle. I just couldn’t help myself, I had to take advantage of it much to mum’s dismay.

So cool and refreshing...

So cool and refreshing...

The puddles really are quite splendid after all the recent rain, here’s another nice one with some particularly nice sniffs along the bank.. couldn’t quite decide whether it was badgers, foxes, rabbits or perhaps a bit of everything.

Is it badger, fox, rabbit or all three?

Is it badger, fox, rabbit or all three?

We then did our normal walk before we went back home to open my parcel! Yes, my new paddling pool from Zooplus had arrived and mum said she’d fill it up straight away.

Comes in a nice plastic zippy bag

Comes in a nice plastic zippy bag

And this is how we have to fold it up to get it back in its bag when winter comes!

Fold it up neatly to get it back in the bag..

Fold it up neatly to get it back in the bag..

But for now I want to see it in the garden and full of water! I had to wait for mum to cut the grass first, which took forever, but finally the moment came when she turned the hose on.. and I sat down and waited.. and waited..

It took ages and ages to fill it up

It took ages and ages to fill it up

But finally it was full!! Oh, it looked so wonderful, so much nicer than my patched up leaky old one with the babyish pictures around the outside and the green slime on the inside.

Playing with my new ball

Playing with my new ball

This yellow ball is my first big ball and I had lots of fun playing with it

Such a naughty ball..

Such a naughty ball..

But it did cause me some problems when it came to trying to get it out of the pool, as you can see in the video clip. I’ve mastered it now of course but at first I didn’t have the knack so mum thought it was funny watching me try to sneak up on it.

~ by Teagan on July 23, 2009.

One Response to “The Homecoming : Part 1”

  1. Yay, you’re new pool is home! I’m glad you got one eventually & hopefully now we’ll have lots more sunshine and you can play splashy games! Luff & licks, Wiggle xx

Leave a Reply

 
