What a Wednesday!! [Part 3]

Well this is the end of today.. and what a wet soggy end it was!! It rained all afternoon but it eased up at about 5.30pm so mum put her wellies on and off we went.. she also took a big umbrella – I hadn’t seen her do that before!

It wasn’t long before I knew why she’d taken the big umbrella.. it started raining by the time we’d got up to the top of East Street. We walked up the track by the farm and it was raining more by then.. so she put her brolly up and we waited under a tree for it to stop a bit.

Under the umbrella

Under the umbrella

I went for a wander around the corn to see what I could find.. there were lots of smells.. Mr Badger smells.. and evidence of Mr Badger!!

A badger toilet!!

A badger toilet!!

My friend Jane reckons that badger poo smells nice but mum decided not to get too close!! It sort of stopped raining quite as much, so we decided to carry on with our walk.

Come on mum, hurry up

Come on mum, hurry up

We went up to Hill Barn and stopped for our usual game of hoopy.. mum stood in the barn and threw hoopy down the hill for me to fetch..

It's wet wet wet!!!

It's wet wet wet!!!

When it got really wet I had a nosey round the barn to see what I could see… it’s kind of wet in there because the door at the back leaks!

Stuff is growing inside!!

Stuff is growing inside!!

And up in the corner of the roof there is a really cosy box where a family of pigeons live.

The pigeon house

The pigeon house

We couldn’t stay in the barn all afternoon so we had to carry on with the walk in the rain.. when we got to Muston Lane all the puddles were filling up even more..

The biggest puddle

The biggest puddle

We decided to walk right down the middle of it, which is actually the shallowest bit. I was soooo wet that I didn’t need to lie down in it today!

Shallower in the middle..

More shallow in the middle..

It’s a good job it wasn’t too deep there because mum’s wellies need mending again, so she’ll have to get the Goop out!

Poorly muck boots need GOOP'ing again

Poorly muck boots need GOOP'ing again

When we got home I had a bonkers five minutes playing with one of my new toys that Emmy gave me

Ooops I left my new toy outside in the rain

Ooops I left my new toy outside in the rain

After that I got towelled dry, well, sort of.. and then I settled down on the sofa in the conservatory to have a rest. Mum puts throws on all the furniture but I like to dig a bit to make my ‘nest’ so they all end up on the floor with the cushions.. good job we haven’t got any visitors coming!

Eeek.. the mess.. have we been burgled??

Eeek.. the mess.. have we been burgled??

You may think that I’ve got a perfectly nice bed beside the sofa and I should be sleeping in that.. well, good for you, you keep thinking that!! I prefer the sofa.. it’s higher up and I get a better view of what’s going on..

~ by Teagan on July 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
