Cheese, cheese, cheese

Today we went to the Cheese Festival at Sturminster Newton – we stopped off at granny’s flat on the way and she came with us! I haven’t seen granny since mum and dad got back from holiday so it was exciting to see her again. There were zillions of people there and we had to queue to get over the bridge into town and then we were right at the bottom of the carpark.

It wasn’t just cheese.. there was a big food hall with cheese and meat and all sorts of yummy stuff – this was the main tent – spot the problem?

NO DOGS!!!

NO DOGS!!!

 I could go in the other tent with craft stuff in it, but that was boring so when mummy & granny went in there I stayed outside. Daddy went in the cheese tent with granny and mummy and I sat outside and did some dog watching.

Discussing the cheese..

Discussing the cheese..

There were lots of dogs there and some dogs were working on stalls.. this was a handsome springer that was on the Dorset Wildlife Trust stall.
So what's the pay like?

So what's the pay like?

My favourite stall was a vets.. there were nice friendly ladies there and they gave me a bag of James Wellbeloved big dog kibble… yummy yummy, usually I only get the medium dog kibble but these were super scrumdelicious great big kibble!!
Being so cute comes naturally

Being so cute comes naturally

They even had a cow on their stall.. only a little one, he was a bit wooden but he had a bucket of food in front of him.. I tried to have a nibble at some but I got told off because it wasn’t dog food.
Mmmm what is this stuff they make cows eat?

Mmmm what is this stuff they make cows eat?

Well, that was about it really, it wasn’t hugely exciting. I found a few nice bits of food on the grass, I didn’t get any cheese tasters.. but daddy bought three different sorts of cheese and I’ll get some of that when we get home. Hey, almost forgot, I had a bit of granny’s ice cream, that was rather good – she dropped it on the grass when she thought daddy wasn’t watching. I did get to meet lots of interesting dogs though, like this HUGE doggy who must be like my twitter friend @HugeHound

Is my friend Kai bigger than this?

Is my friend Kai bigger than this?

One thing’s for sure, he certainly is bigger than this.. now I don’t want to be rude or anything, but dogs are generally bigger than cats, yes? It’s just kind of normal for dogs to be, well, dog-size.. they can be smaller than me, same as me and bigger than me, or even bigger than most dogs.. like that one up there… so when you see one of these even I start wondering if it really is a real dog…

Eeeeek... a huge insect??

Eeeeek... a huge insect??

So, that was our trip to the Cheese Festival… we took our cheese home and I had a rest before we went out for our evening walk… quite a long one so we could walk off the cheese we’d eaten!!  We went up to Whatcombe Woods and for the first time we saw some of the big machines that chop the trees down!!

The big tree-eating machines

The big tree-eating machines

This was two big machines and in the middle there was a big chainsaw thing with a round thing to take the branches off the tree trunks… scary stuff… wouldn’t like to be in the woods when it was chopping the trees down!

This was just ONE of the piles of logs..

This was just ONE of the piles of logs..

We had a great walk, loads of new smells because we haven’t been there for a couple of weeks. On the way home we called in at the pub where my favourite landlady Jan gave me some roast beef off the carvery AND a tripe stick!! How lucky am I? Mum and Dad both had a pint of beer..

A very suitable name indeed!

A very suitable name indeed!

A rather nice way to end the weekend…

~ by Teagan on September 13, 2009.

4 Responses to “Cheese, cheese, cheese”

  1. You sure had an exciting day! Bummer about that cheese tent wot not lets dogs in. But grate that you can go in the pub and get yummies.

    • I was really disappointed I couldn’t get in with the cheese, but it was real hot & crowded in there.. and people eating food were all outside so it was okay really.

  2. Oh, CHEESE! Nommy. Sometimes you dogs have all the luck.

    • My sis likes cheese but she only has it as a very special treat occasionally. It tastes so great that I guess too much cheese isn’t good for us. Isn’t that always the way with good tasting things :o) Mum doesn’t buy cheese very often coz she says they just eat it. Isn’t that what you’re supposed to do with it? Humans are silly sometimes.

Leave a Reply

 
