Liver Cake

As requested by my friend @adogcalledbingo here is the recipe for Liver Cake.

Mum has just made a fresh batch so that I’ll have something to give to any canines who come trick or treating. And in case their humans love liver she didn’t put the eggshells in this time.. well, with a bit of gravy and a few veg it’s kind of like a meat loaf, isn’t it?
Anyway, I’m not sure who to give the credit to for this, but I have left it as it was when I cut and pasted it.. so big thanks to Cleo the Staffie’s human.
By the way, we don’t have a microwave so we just bung it in the aga for about 30 minutes.. it all depends on how hot it is when we make it.

“I wonder if anyone would be interested in a recipe for home made liver cake – for dogs of course. I wouldn’t go to this much trouble for mere humans!
This is for cooking in a microwave.
It is really easy to make – ingredients:
1lb liver
1lb flour – preferably granary
3 eggs
2 cloves garlic (optional)
1 teaspoon oil
splosh of milk 

Liquidise liver with eggs, milk, oil & garlic in blender.
Add to flour & mix
Put into a microwavable dish & hollow it slightly in middle, then cook on full power for about 10 mins.
Cut into slices & freeze.

 

Defrost when ready to use – don’t defrost too much at once as it goes mouldy quite quickly (as if it would get a chance to!)
Dogs would kill for this!
It is extremely useful for training if broken up into small pieces.
It is also very smelly – just what my Staffie, Cleo loves.
Chapstaff ”

Mmmm fresh liver cake

~ by Teagan on October 30, 2010.

7 Responses to “Liver Cake”

  1. Teagan and Cleo:

    I think me and my Best Friend will love this cake. I never had liver before. I don’t think I did. But we did make some other dog treats one time. Some of them even had cheese inside. But I don’t know how we put the cheese inside the treats!

    Happy Hallowe’en!

    From Sammy

    • I hope you enjoy it, I’m sure you will!! I like cheese too, I even like it without a treat around it!
      Happy Howloween to you too! Hope you get lots of treats and no tricks!

  2. Teagan and Cleo

    Jack likes new flavours, this looks like a very special treat.

    What sort of liver should I use? It looks like a nice pate really.

    It really does look delicious.

    Will we have midnight garden visits though- smelly piles and all that?

    • I think pigs liver is cheapest & tastiest! I probably wouldn’t recommend making it if you have people coming to view the house.. stick to the coffee and freshly baked bread!!
      It’s not for a whole meal, just the occasional treat so I don’t think it’ll cause any botty problems!! I’ll let you try some next time you visit 🙂

  3. Looks like it could be tasty. It’s worth a try.

  4. Nom, nom, nom. I am drooling. Now I just got to keep on at mum to make me some. Thanks very much xx

Leave a Reply

 
