BarQR : I’m like a pineapple!!

Well, of course I’m not a pineapple, that would just be plain silly. Pineapples are kind of egg shaped with green spiky leaves and I’m black and furry. But one thing we both have in common is a QR code! You know, those funny little black and white squares on their labels.

Me with my BarQR Tag

In case you have no idea what I’m barking on about, or indeed BarQR’ing on about, that’s one up there. It’s not actually attached to my collar because it’s a bit difficult to get a photo as my ears tend to get in the way of things. But when I go out for a walk it will be attached to my collar, along with my regular dog tag because of course the law says that all doggies have to wear a collar with an ID tag with their owners name and address on it. Did you know that you can be fined up to £5,000 if you don’t wear an ID tag?  I would rather have a tag and spend the £5,000 on 714kg of tripe, or probably more because I’d get a quantity discount, although I’m not quite sure where I’d keep that much tripe.

My BarQR Tag - Isn't it lovely?

The back of the BarQR tag looks like this.

DogHeirs BarQR Tag

So, what do I do with this tag? Well I do nothing, I just wear it. But if I got lost and then was found by someone, they could scan me with their mobile phone (yes, there are lots of apps for doing that) and they would get to all my details that are stored on the DogHeirs website! I’ve been registered there for a couple of years now and mum has kept a record of my vital statistics… height and weight etc and also all my vaccinations. They let you keep lots and lots of information on their website all about your dog, they have forums and photographs and all sorts! If you haven’t heard of them then it’s well worth a look. You can even get your very own BarQR code, or just read all about them if you click here. I could tell you all about them here but as they’ve already written it all down much better than I can, I think you should just click on the link.

I don't look a bit like a Pineapple

It’s totally free to register so what are you waiting for? They are based in the USA so if you live over there then it would be even better if you signed up because they have a great system for getting posters and notices out if a doggy goes missing.  Well, I think I’ve told you all I can about my new BarQR tag now… I’m getting kind of sleepy.

This is all too tiring...

If you do sign up, make sure you look for Teagans Mum. By the way, if you’re on twitter, DogHeirs tweet as @DogHeirs so why not follow them.

~ by Teagan on October 14, 2011.

4 Responses to “BarQR : I’m like a pineapple!!”

  1. Love your blog!!! @Nellie

  2. Now that is a very good idea. It is a fearful thing to worry about losing a dog.
    My last springer was stolen from us in the Wmborne area over thirty years ago- he was found a week later at Tarrant Gunville, over 20 miles a way from where we lived- lifted and then dumped because he had been nuetered.

    The police had more time to do stuff in those days- losing a dog ages you- makes your heart ache beyond all description – Wuffs and everything else

    Love from True_Belle and Jack x

  3. Wowsers I could get one and pretend I am wearing a Munzee! I love the way the tag matches your collar so well!

  4. This is a great idea! I am going to get my mom to check it out! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
