First new walk of 2012

Today we went on one of our regular walks but mummy wanted to find out where another footpath went… so as daddy was with us, we went off to explore. I don’t know why we haven’t done it before but I guess she was worried about meeting bears in the woods or something.

Who builds a tent like this?

Do bears live in wooden tents? Somehow I don’t think so, but I’m not sure who would, because it’s not going to keep the rain out is it?

Which way does the path go?

Well, we saw some very interesting fungi but I was more interested in the sniffs on the ground…

Hurry up, never mind the tree mushroom

It’s a really nice path, along an ancient boundary with some really old trees. Not many people walk this way because they re-routed the footpath but there are still stiles to nowhere…

Come on... you're supposed to climb over this

Look, in the distance can you see that barn? It’s got a brand new thatch and has just been renovated…

The Old Barn has been restored!!

It used to be all falling down and then they covered it up.

It's incognito... first you don't see it

And now

Wow.. now you see it

Anyway, back to the walk. Just past the barn we took the old path that runs alongside the field with horses in it and goes back up into the woods. And what do you think we found? Yes, another drafty tent,

Who lives here?

This one was a bit better than the first one we found, but it was still pretty drafty. Maybe they sit in their tent before they go out to find a nice spot for a picnic.

Where shall we put the picnic blanket?

Meanwhile, back in the woods this is a close up of some cool mushrooms that we found in a tree – I think they are all having a party

hey, it's a mushroom party

Well, we’re almost at the end of the walk now… not far until we get back onto our usual path. We had fun and I think we’ll do this again next time! Such a lot of good sniffs..

I reckon it was a rabbit... or maybe two

Well, that’s the end of my new walk… but there’s a little slideshow with some more pictures for you.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

A New Walk, posted with vodpod

I’m sorry the slideshow kind of whizzes along and doesn’t give you time to read the captions… so you may want to click on the pause button. I asked it for 4 seconds for each, but if that’s 4 seconds per pic then I’m your monkey’s uncle, or whatever the saying is. Maybe I’m the cows third cousin, who knows. Anyway, thanks for watching and don’t forget to leave a comment even if it’s just to say “hello” or to say “hurry up with the Christmas blog” because it’s almost Easter!!

 

~ by Teagan on January 8, 2012.

10 Responses to “First new walk of 2012”

  1. Hi Teagan, great walk. We have some drafty tents in our woods too, one even has seats made of logs!

  2. Hi teagan, that looks like a great new walk you have discovered. I think you were right to steer clear of the ‘shrooms – never sure when they might be icky ones.

  3. What a great way to start 2012, Teagan! That little tent is perfect for you and your friends when we come and visit you! Lovely walk!

  4. We wish we had shared your walk Teagan, my word , that barn has been restored very quickly, it looks very grand.

    The little wigwam shelter looked perfect for a picnic out of the wind, who built it though?

    The toadstools are just how one would imagine a cache of magic eggs – were you on a geo cache expedition.

    I am so glad your leg is better- we will be able to have a run together very soon, won’t we.

    True_Belle and Jack spaniel xx

    • The barn is gorgeous… except maybe the square hole in the door. Mum thinks it should be a heart shaped hole! The last time we did this walk we didn’t see either of those wigwams 🙂

  5. Wonderful photos Teagan. The thatched barn is beautiful and the wigwam is pretty cool.

  6. We are always findin drafty tents in our woods too. I think childrens make em for playin in.

  7. I think Marley’s right about the drafty tents but round here it’s older children as there’s cigarette packets and booze bottles left behind!

    That looked a good new walk and Mum took some lovely photos along the way 🙂

  8. I really liked you first new walk of year. Lots of new places to see and I bet there were some really great smells. Liked the vented tents I use to make those when I was a child ( really I was)! Doesn’t look like they were big enough for me and both Newfs?! Would love to see that walk again especially in spring when leaves, flowers, everything starts to grow. Newfs Mom 🙂

    • I’m sure we’ll be doing the walk again all through the year… so we’ll see it through the seasons. I don’t think there would be room for even one small Newfie in one of those stick tents!

Leave a Reply

 
