Little Stick Walk

Well, after my last post, it only seems fair to sticks that I point out that some days I like big sticks and some days I like little sticks. And some days I don’t even think about sticks. Well, okay, maybe that’s a lie, I think about sticks pretty much every day but I don’t always find one that I want to carry on a walk.

Anyway, today it was lovely and frosty so mum said we could go for a nice long walk on the heath.

All the puddles were covered in a layer of ice! I wonder who stepped on this one and broke the ice.

IMG_8349

Hmm I shall use my super spaniel nose to see if I can find out who it was.

IMG_8352

Investigations will have to wait because we’ve just got to one of my favourite water holes. I’ll just have to have a quick paddle, luckily it’s in a sheltered spot and there isn’t any ice.

IMG_8354

Brrr… there was no ice but it was still pretty cold.

IMG_8358

I’ll soon warm up in the sunshine if I run around to get dry.

IMG_8360

Such a lot of blue sky and there are two airplanes doing criss-cross trails.

IMG_8365

It always looks funny seeing the giant road cones up on the heath. They’re mostly marking where the bore holes are.

IMG_8366

Such a nice day but we only saw about 6 people and we were walking on the big paths that come up from Whitesheet where most people go. I thought everyone and their dog would want to be out today but we only saw someone with a full set of labradors [cream, yellow, chocolate and black] and they weren’t very friendly at all, oh, and someone with a greyhound, at least I think it was a greyhound, that definitely wasn’t very friendly.

IMG_8367

Have you spotted my stick yet? If you look carefully you can just see it – it’s so small you may need a magnifying glass.

IMG_8368

Maybe I’ll find a bigger one on this bit of the pathway, it’s not a bit we walk along very often because it’s usually very wet and muddy but today the mud was nicely frozen.

IMG_8372

And here we are at one of my favourite spots, Gate 37, where there’s always nice clear water to cool off in when it’s hot. But what’s going on here? Roadworks? Maybe not… my ears tell me that somewhere there is someone nearby with a chainsaw cutting down trees and doing some gorse bashing.

IMG_8375

This bit of the footpath looks like a stream! We are heading up over the green grassy bit to cross the road and walk up the track to get us back on the top bit of heathland.

IMG_8376

And here we are, at the top of the hill, after walking up the path from the track.

IMG_8377

It’s a lovely view from the top, well, that’s what mum says. Me, I’m more interested in what’s going on at ground level.

IMG_8379

It’s quite a big hill and the gorse is really prickly.

IMG_8382

From the top we can even see Horton Tower – it’s in the middle of the picture and looks like it’s just under the power line and in the middle of the woods. But of course it’s not in the middle of the woods, it’s in the middle of a big field, as you can see here.

IMG_8384

That was a great walk, I think I’m going to sleep well tonight.

~ by Teagan on January 19, 2016.

3 Responses to “Little Stick Walk”

  1. Look furry nice my pal….but waters and stiks be too fings I dussnt ave nuffink to do wiv….

  2. You very gorgeous girlie and
    me loves all your adventures. Hugs Jazzy xxxx

  3. Another great walk. We have a few paths here that have turned into streams too!

Leave a Reply

 
